Setting Up A Kennel And A Training Facility

lisa k

Hi Guys,

I am new here. My name is Lisa and i am currently studying cert 4 in small business management. As part of my course i was assigned a 'business' type. the business type i have is a imaginary boarding, grooming and training facility for dogs.

I have sourced the information for the grooming side of the business, but am unable to find details on set up costs for a training facility and boarding facility. I have some information on the boarding side, but not a single thing on the training facility...

so i pose this question-

WHAT do you want to see in a training facility - equipment, size of space provided, type of trainer etc. what would be your ideal training facility for your beloved four legged pal?

Any and all information- or a point in the right direction to finding the required information would be, beyond helpful and greatly appreciated.

thank you

Lisa

Have a look at this place...

http://www.farmerdave.com.au/

T.

That is not a good representation imo.

Dirty (So many people say this about this facility), dogs escape (the very public case of the bulldog that the facility has not supported the medical costs), dogs get returned from boarding/training with wounds and emaciated (one of my rescues).

Free range facilities aren't a good idea imo, attacks, injuries, too much exercise etc.

What makes a good one? Not 1001 dogs, you need smaller numbers to ensure you know what's going on with all the dogs in your care. Well built kennels that are always clean. Big exercise runs with an appropriate number of dogs in them with size appropriate play mates and not over exercised etc. People who monitor the dogs in their care i.e. are they eating, are they injured etc. The training methods should herald results and the facility be honest and transparent in what methods they actually use.

Have a look at this place...

http://www.farmerdave.com.au/

T.

That is not a good representation imo.