Foundation Fundamentals 6-dvd Set

LisaCC

While waiting for my Aussie pup to hurry up and come along I've been reading lots of threads and watching lots of videos and I'm pretty much set on wanting to do agility! It looks like so much fun and just plain amazing. thumbsup1.gif

I have noticed that everyone wishes they knew more when they first started. Obviously a lot of this comes from experience but I'm wondering the best resource to have as a complete newbie. I've been looking at the Clean Run Foundation Fundamentals DVD set and wondering if anyone can tell me if it's worth the money or is there something better?

So far I only have Control Unleashed: The Puppy Program, that was recommended by DOLers :)

The last time I had a puppy was 11 years ago, and we did obedience but never to competition level. I would be interested in doing obedience with this new pup too.

I'm asking now because I want to do the right thing from the get go.smile.gif

Edited by LisaCC

I think the most useful thing is to find a good mentor or trainer or training club that can help you set off on the right path to achieve your goals. If you are going to invest money into getting more knowledge/experience I'd definitely suggest investing it in actual training with a professional is the best way to start. DVDs, books etc are all great to read and have on hand but sometimes having too much info on hand can be confusing and overwhelming for new puppy owners. Nothing beats having experienced people on hand to look at your dog and help you formulate a training plan that works for both of you.

A lot of agility clubs will run foundation classes for puppies so may be worth looking if there is something like that in your area?

I just had a look at the Foundation Fundamentals set then - the content looks good :thumbsup: