Dog Fretting. Need Advice.

luvspugs

Hi everyone.

One of my 12 year old pugs had to be put to sleep 2 nights ago. She was a rescue along with her sister. We have had them for 5 years and they were 7 years old when they came into our home. They have been together their entire lives.

The alpha dog was the one who was put to sleep and her sister is fretting already. I have no experience in this and would welcome any advice in making this period of time easier for the surviving dog. She is eating well, but just wants to sleep constantly. Occasionally she will let out a howl like she is in pain. This is not something she has ever done before. She is deaf after suffering 2 vestibular attacks in the past, but otherwise is normally robust and very outgoing.

Thanks in advance.

Luvspugs firstly I am so sorry for your loss. Its really hard especially when the dogs have been together all their lives. Dogs grieve the same as people and will do so for around two weeks or so. Thundershirts work for dogs that are anxious so are you able to fashion a tight wrap for her that will make her feel snug. You could also try some rescue remedy in her water.

So sorry to hear of your loss luvspugs. :(

I recently lost my almost 12 yr old sibe girl. She was also the alpha dog.

My other dogs including rescues fretted quiet badly. Jasmine (a foster failure close to 10 yrs old) went off her food and was even quieter than her usual self. She slept on the bed most of the time.

Logan, a rescue who has been in care several months was very fond of Gypsy and howled like mad when she died. Did so for 2 - 3 weeks afterwards, day and night on and off and also went off his food for close to a week.

Blacky also did a bit of howling, as did the others. Luki was very confused and would look for her. He is also a foster failure, been here since a bub - survived death and parvo and became a part of our family. He really looked up to Gyps. She was like a Mum to him.

It's horrible to see them so sad.